“I choose you”

*Play whilst reading*

When I first heard this song, I didn’t realise Jason Nelson wrote it from God’s perspective: “forever is a long time, that’s how long I’ll love you, that’s how long I’ll love you, foreverrrr” => God is committed to you, he’s already chosen you, and his love for you really is everlasting. It’s the “forever and ever and ever” bridge at 6:16 for me.

Okay imma get real deep and honest here because the truth really does set you free. In this season I’ve found it hard to articulate how I’ve felt, how I’ve been feeling, how I would describe today even. I would say it’s been a shadowy wilderness of confusion and a struggle to stay afloat at times- it sure doesn’t look like it from the outside. But the revelation the Holy Spirit gave me yesterday, is that I wouldn’t be going through anything that I haven’t already been given the strength to get through- but I have to choose to let go and let Godevery single time.

Whenever I try and conquer my weaknesses or shortcomings in my own might and strength, I end up plastering over them-sometimes without even knowing it. I don’t reallyyy have to look at them if they’re plastered up and so I don’t have to deal with them- I press on until I run out of plasters and then I find myself overwhelmed by defeat. I used to (up until this conversation with the holy spirit) think that there’s only so many times I can “stumble” during my day- before I wanna skip on to the next. But instead of over-analysing every single aspect of every single weight that may be bringing you down=> I want to encourage you to run to the father every single time.

His grace is boundless, his love is never-ending and his mercies are new every morning.

“you turned my wailing to dancing, you removed my sackcloth and clothed me with joy, that my heart may sing your praises and not be silent. Lord my God, I will praise you forever”

Psalm 31:5
I’ve been studying David’s Psalms and I’d realllyyy encourage you to start reading them- they really are food for the soul!

Whatever the battle you’re facing is- just know that it will not prevail. We may trip and trip and trip and trip again and again but when we CHOOSE TO LET GO of our trips, to LET GO of our falls, – no matter how many we may experience in a day and instead LET GOD fixate our gaze on his peace, on his love and on his grace- we allow room for our faith to grow. We realise that we actually can’t do a day without him.

Letting go and letting God is a decision you have to make- not just every day but in every moment where you feel defeat. Do I sit and dwell in this place of defeat? Do I strive hard to suppress this moment of defeat and keep trying to stay afloat? Or do I choose to let go, and let God? Do I choose to say in the moment where my thoughts seem to have lost control: “Lord I need you again, Holy spirit help me, I need your strength”.

“Lord I need you again, Holy Spirit help me, I need your strength”

Since God is the same yesterday, today and forever, his decision to choose you doesn’t change, his love towards you doesn’t change, the beautiful plans he has for you will not change. So even when we feel like we should be ‘disqualified’ from this race- we have to make the daily decision to choose him; it’s a daily act of surrender because yesterday’s decision was for yesterday and today’s is for today.

What are you holding on to that you need to let go of? What makes you think God won’t carry you through-because he will. I couldn’t even end that last question with a question mark because it’s already been confirmed in the word. Even when we struggle to choose him, he still chooses us everyday.

He hears you and he’s waiting for you with his arms open wide every second of every single day. You’re his and he’s yours and that’s the truth.

Sending you all the love, light and laughter in this season,

Tami x

You know I couldn’t end this post without some of my current worship songs. Montell Fish gets a special shoutout, especially if you’re into lofi-gospel. Sir is changing the game.

  1. Already Done- Free Worship
  2. Champion- Bethel Music, Dante Bowe
  3. Familiar- Madison Ryann Ward
  4. Holy God- Montell Fish (MY CURRENT FAV)
  5. Holding Me Down- Chris Howland, Montell Fish
  6. On My Way- Montell Fish, Madison Ryann Ward
  7. So in Love- B-Side – Isla Vista Worship, Mark Barlow
  8. My Portion- Isla Vista Worship, Mark Barlow
  9. Here Now (Madness)- Hillsong United
  10. Fall On Me -Guvna B ft. Wretch 32
  11. You Never Let Go- Guvna B ft. Travis Greene
  12. Lord Send Revival- Hillsong Young & Free
  13. Made a Way- Travis Greene

“you turned my wailing to dancing, you removed my sackcloth and clothed me with joy, that my heart may sing your praises and not be silent. Lord my God, I will praise you forever”

Psalm 31:5

Leave a comment