“Living for an audience of ONE”

Public speaking, speaking in my seminars, speaking to small, medium or large audiences makes me sweat. Like, you know when your starting a new term at university/school and you get asked to say your name, course and a fun fact about yourself, I start rehearsing these lines in my head before it’s my turn to speak.

My friends know I can talkkk lool- sometimes too much and sometimes unprovoked welp. But I realised that this fear of public speaking is really from a fear of other’s perceptions. As someone who loves writing, it’s 100% my preferred way of communicating because I can backspace if I type the wrong word, I can correct my spelling, I can search up better phrases etc. and I feel like I have more control over what is said. But, as someone who is also continually strengthening my faith in Christ, I know that “there’s a peace far beyond all understanding”, and that “his word remains true even when my thoughts don’t line up.

On the 11th March, I spoke on my first everrr panel about balancing my creative passions with my university degree and although I can’t say I didn’t sweat, the fact that I, me, the writer/not the speaker even agreed to be a panelist was a step of faith=> God knewww I needed to remember that it really is “not by MY own strength or power but by HIS spirit” (Zechariah 4:6) and to acknowledge that speaking on that panel really wasn’t ‘for me’ but it was for his glory and for his name to be lifted high.

The words in ‘P E A C E’ are so powerful, because this song reminds me, not only of God’s perfect and supernatural peace, but also of the importance in fixing our gaze on him- on his promises, on his perfect love, on his word, and on his purpose for our life. A gaze fixed on fear ‘hears’: “What if they don’t understand what you’re trying to say, what if you say the wrong words, or what if you speak too fast?”. But a gaze transfixed on his overwhelming PEACE hears : “will you be still, calm, and rest in my presence? Because anxiety bows to me, and I created you to live for an audience of one, not to perform for an audience of many”.

On this journey of faith, I am continually learning that we are constantly being refined, constantly being renewed, constantly being transformed. We’re a work in progress and that’s okay because there’s so much beauty in the process.

**There were so many worship songs I wanted to attach, so I’m gonna list a few here:

Love y’all!! Keep stepping out in faith and fix your gaze on his promises because he’s stronger than anythingggg the world can TRY and throw.

Tami x

2 Timothy 1:7 // Philippians 4:7

Leave a comment